Philippines extends travel restrictions on India, Indonesia, eight other countries

The Philippines on Friday extended its restrictions on travelers from 10 countries to August 31, 2021 to curb the spread of Delta coronavirus variant.advertisement

These countries are:

  • India,
  • Pakistan,
  • Bangladesh,
  • Sri Lanka,
  • Nepal,
  • United Arab Emirates,
  • Oman,
  • Thailand,
  • Malaysia and
  • Indonesia

Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said President Rodrigo Duterte has approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases or IATF, the government’s policy-making body in addressing the COVID-19 pandemic.

Roque said Duterte also approved the request of airlines to resume international transit hub operations. 

Other Stories

“These international transit hub operations shall be limited to airside transfers between Terminals 1 and 2, and within Terminal 3 of the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, and further limited for countries/jurisdictions/territories in the Green List,” he said.

  • Albania,
  • American Samoa,
  • Anguilla,
  • Australia,
  • Benin,
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina,
  • Brunei,
  • Burkina Faso,
  • Cameroon,
  • Cayman Islands,
  • Chad,
  • China,
  • Comoros,
  • Cote d’ Ivoire (Ivory Coast),
  • Djibouti,
  • Equatorial Guinea,
  • Falkland Islands,
  • Gabon,
  • Grenada,
  • Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China),
  • Hungary,
  • Mali,
  • Federated States of Micronesia,
  • Montserrat (British Overseas Territory),
  • New Caledonia,
  • New Zealand,
  • Niger,
  • Nigeria,
  • Northern Mariana Islands,
  • Palau,
  • Poland,
  • Romania,
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon,
  • Slovakia,
  • Sudan and
  • Taiwan

“As such, protocols for the controlled movement of passengers and health and safety protocols within the terminals shall be strictly observed.”

Roque said any traveler who may exhibit symptoms shall comply with isolation and quarantine protocols that shall be for the account of the sponsoring airlines.

The IATF directed the Department of Foreign Affairs, the Bureau of Quarantine, and the Bureau of Immigration to formulate the necessary protocols for the issuance of appropriate visas applicable on a case-to-case basis.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *