Marcoleta, 8 others get Commission on Appointments seats

Party-list Representative Rodante Marcoleta and eight other lawmakers have been elected as members of the powerful Commission on Appointments (CA), the panel which has the authority to approve or reject the appointees of the president.

Marcoleta, who withdrew from the 2022 Senate race ahead of May 9 elections and returned as 1-SAGIP party-list nominee, was elected to the CA on Wednesday’s plenary session with Representatives Ramon Guico of Pangasinan, Jurdin Jesus Romualdo of Camiguin, Albert Garcia of Bataan, Luis Raymond Villafuerte of Camarines Sur, Manuel Sagarbarria of Negros Oriental, Greg Gasataya of Bacolod City, Johnny Ty Pimentel of Surigao del Sur and Jose Padiernos of GP party-list.

The Supreme Court ruling on the Pimentel Jr. vs Ermita case describes the Commission on Appointments as a “constitutional body under the 1987 Philippine Constitution” and an “independent body separate and distinct from the legislature although its membership is confined to the members of Congress.”

In its website, CA members’ mandate states that its power over presidential appointees “should be discharged with impartiality, without partisan consideration, and with only one impelling motive, which is the harmonious and efficient functioning of the government.”

In addition, the following were also elected as members of the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET): Representatives Vincent Garcia of Davao City, Pablo John Garcia of Cebu City, Ma. Theresa Collantes of Batangas, Nelson Dayanghirang of Davao Oriental, Linabelle Villarica of Bulacan, Robert Raymond Estrella of Abono party-list.

Under the Constitution, the HRET is the sole judge of all contests relating to the election, returns, and qualifications of the members of the House of Representatives or those who were already proclaimed winners in the polls by the Commission on Elections.—LDF, GMA News

This article Marcoleta, 8 others get Commission on Appointments seats was originally published in GMA News Online.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *