Navarra WSBK: Rea extends pole streak, Razgatlioglu P8

Kawasaki’s Jonathan Rea extended his run of consecutive World Superbike pole positions to seven after edging out Scott Redding for the top spot in qualifying at Navarra.

Navarra WSBK: Rea extends pole streak, Razgatlioglu P8Listen to this article

Friday pacesetter Rea was the man to beat after the opening runs at the Spanish track, another new-for-2021 venue, on a 1m36.794s, comfortably the fastest lap of the weekend so far.

The six-time world champion was only ousted with two minutes left of the 15-minute session, as Chaz Davies, Andrea Locatelli and Tom Sykes all enjoyed brief spells at the head of the times.

With 30 seconds on the clock, Ducati rider Redding posted a 1m36.215s to go three tenths clear of Sykes, but Rea responded by posting a 1m36.122s at the chequered flag to beat Redding by 0.093s.

Sykes ended up with the final spot on the front row aboard his BMW, followed by top Yamaha rider Locatelli, who topped Saturday morning practice, and the Go Eleven Ducati of Chaz Davies.

Lucas Mahias was a strong sixth on the Puccetti Kawasaki on his return from injury ahead of the second works machine of Alex Lowes.

The disappointment of the session however was Toprak Razgatlioglu, who arrived at Navarra just three points shy of Rea in the riders’ standings but could only manage a time 0.630s off the pace in eighth place.

Completing the top 10 were the GRT Yamaha of Garrett Gerloff and Michael van der Mark on the second BMW.

Alvaro Bautista was the best of the Honda riders in 12th, while Leon Haslam was 17th-fastest – one place behind the satellite MIE Racing bike of the returning Leandro Mercado.

Suzuki wildcard Naomichi Uramoto was 20th fastest and almost three seconds off the pace, but nonetheless outqualified the two Pedercini Kawasakis of Jayson Uribe and Loris Cresson.

Qualifying results:

11 Jonathan ReaKawasaki1’36.122 
245 Scott ReddingDucati1’36.2150.093
366 Tom SykesBMW1’36.5460.424
455 Andrea LocatelliYamaha1’36.5800.458
57 Chaz DaviesDucati1’36.6930.571
644 Lucas MahiasKawasaki1’36.7290.607
722 Alex LowesKawasaki1’36.7440.622
854 Toprak RazgatliogluYamaha1’36.7520.630
931 Garrett GerloffYamaha1’36.8580.736
1060 Michael van der MarkBMW1’36.8950.773
1147 Axel BassaniDucati1’37.2401.118
1219 Alvaro BautistaHonda1’37.4121.290
1321 Michael Ruben RinaldiDucati1’37.4681.346
1494 Jonas FolgerBMW1’37.6611.539
153 Kohta NozaneYamaha1’37.6641.542
1636 Leandro MercadoHonda1’37.7941.672
1791 Leon HaslamHonda1’38.0121.890
1853 Tito RabatDucati1’38.4462.324
1923 Christophe PonssonYamaha1’38.9482.826
206 Naomichi UramotoSuzuki1’38.9732.851
2114 Jayson UribeKawasaki1’40.0943.972
2284 Loris CressonKawasaki1’40.2554.133

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *