PBBM lobbies for PH’s UN Security Council bid


77th UNGA. President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. speaks before world leaders at the 77th United Nations General Assembly in New York on Sept. 21, 2022 (Wednesday, Philippine time). In his speech, Marcos urged UN member-states to support the Philippines’ candidature to the international body’s Security Council for the term 2027-2028. (OPS photo)

MANILA – President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. on Wednesday (Manila time) asked the member-states of the United Nations (UN) to support the Philippines’ candidature to the international body’s Security Council for the term 2027-2028.

Marcos made the call in a speech delivered during the 77th session of the UN General Assembly (UNGA), saying the Philippines’ peace-building efforts make it qualified to be part of the security council.

“My country’s experience in building peace and forging new paths of cooperation can enrich the work of the Security Council. And to this end I appeal for the valuable support of all UN Member States for the Philippines’ candidature to the Security Council for the term of 2027-2028,” he said.

The UN Security Council is primarily responsible for maintaining international peace and security. It takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression.

It also calls upon the parties to a dispute to settle differences through peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of settlement. In some cases, the security council may impose sanctions or even authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security.

PH’s peace initiatives

Marcos cited the country’s success in achieving “lasting peace and sustainable development” in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao by pushing for “inclusive dialogue.”

“The peace that we have forged after many decades of conflict among warring factions and clansmen demonstrates that unity is possible even in the most trying circumstances,” he said.

The Philippines, Marcos said, also takes the same approach in Asia, noting that it builds partnerships for peace and development through inter-faith and inter-religious dialogue, especially in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

“In the face of great diversity, we believe that partnerships form the bridge to unite all of us in promoting peace and stability in the Asia Pacific region,” Marcos said.

Maintaining int’l peace, security

Marcos also emphasized the need to reaffirm the UN’s commitment to end war, uphold justice, respect human rights, and maintain international peace and security.

This, as he urged the UN members to address the scourge of the proliferation of all weapons, including small arms, light weapons, or improvised explosive devices.

Marcos made the call, as he lamented that the nuclear weapon continues to be an “existential threat” despite efforts to prohibit its use.

“Our work must also focus on ensuring that the international system remains fair not only for all states, but more importantly for all peoples. This system must work for the most vulnerable, especially the marginalized, migrants and refugees. The world has witnessed the enduring contribution of migrants in the fight against this pandemic,” he said.

Marcos also sought an end to the “disturbing” incidents of racism, especially among Asians.

He said the Philippines’ United Nations Joint Program on Human Rights is an example of a “constructive approach that puts our people, not our politics, at the center of this work.”

“It provides a model for revitalizing the structures that facilitates solidarity between the United Nations and a sovereign duty-bearer,” he said.

“Our continued solidarity will also benefit from a reformed and more inclusive Security Council and an empowered General Assembly that can hold the Council to account. At the same time, the United Nations must forge ahead with its flagship tradition of global peacekeeping,” Marcos added.

The UN Security Council consists of 15 member-states, and each member has one vote.

Under the UN Charter, all member-states are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

The council’s five permanent members are China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

The current members include Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Norway, and the United Arab Emirates.

The Philippines was last elected to the council in 2005. (PNA)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *